EU lifts travel restrictions for US travelers

EU lifts travel restrictions for US travelers
Travelers at Germany's Frankfurt Airport look at a destination board showing canceled flights to America on March 12, 2020. Source: Getty Images
2 Min Read

Daily US Times: US travelers will finally be allowed to visit Europe again this summer after the EU authorities lifted travel restrictions for them.

The European Union’s governing body has recommended that the 27-nation bloc lift restrictions on non-essential travel from 14 countries, including the United States, a move that would allow visitors from these destinations to vacation in Europe far more easily.

The European Council said in a statement announced on Friday that member states should “gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders” for residents of the following countries: Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Republic of North Macedonia, Thailand, USA and China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

The UK was noticeably absent from the list, which is to be reviewed every two weeks.

While some countries, such as Spain and Greece, are already permitting fully vaccinated US travelers and/or those who submit a negative PCR test, or meet other special requirements to enter into the country, this recommendation means that US travelers could be permitted to travel to 27 EU member states.

However, each member state will have the option to impose additional requirements, such as a negative PCR test or proof of vaccination or a mandatory quarantine period.

The news comes more than a year after non-essential travel from the US to the EU was banned.

At present, non-US citizens who’ve recently visited the UK or the EU are barred from entering America.

You may read: Kim Jong-un prepares for ‘dialogue and confrontation’ with the US